I'm a thirty-something technologist based in Denver, living with my amazingly talented husband and our two overly friendly dogs. We arrived in Denver three years ago and I must say, I'm the happiest I've ever been. Since leaving New York City (after 6+ years), we've made some great friends, rediscovered a love for the outdoors, have picked up a bunch of new hobbies, started a new job I really enjoy, and finally bought and renovated our first house.

I work in education technology. I like to tinker and create things, and will try anything new. I have creative fringe hobbies. I like to travel. I'm a sci-fi geek. I'll always go for wine and cheese with good friends. I love outside - from sitting in the backyard with a good pipe to camping, hiking, backpacking, skiing, and anything else that's off the grid. I believe in community, in treating others right, in an open mind, and in personal growth. I'm rather laid back and usually slow to speak, but happy to always meet someone new and do something fun.

Photo of my husband and puppy
My husband, Zach, and our puggle, Amelia, in a staring contest.

Photo of both dogs
Amelia Pond and Alonso Frame


I work on the Web.

My background is in technology but with a degree in business I sit in a happy little niche bridging the two. I hack on random projects, experiment with different technologies, and help other developers be successful in their projects.


A couple years ago I joined Pearson Education's to help build out the Pearson Developers Network. Our little team of rebels helps other programmers, clients, and institutions build cool stuff using Pearson APIs. I get to experiment, train, write, and learn about all the cool stuff people are working on - for a guy who loves ideas, it's a pretty sweet gig.

Visit The PDN portal »

The Mighty Ants

From 2008 to 2012 my full time gig was running an interactive tech & communications firm. Our specialties were broad: branding & marketing, strategic consulting, experience design, websites and applications, etc. I still consult on a few fun projects now again.

Visit TMA's Website »


unbound books


A few years ago I started hand-binding books, and have done a few I'm quite proud of. Now I'm working on rebinding our modern library into a more classic look.

the bar i built


With our recent home renovation came a new hobby in wood working. I built a bar in our basement, and soon will be working on bookshelves and other furniture.



I enjoy cooking and entertaining, good wine and great cheese, and generally trying anything new. Yes I made this sushi.

me at coliseum


I love to be in new places, and will usually jump at the chance at a road trip or an overseas excursion. I've been to 13 countries on three continents.

our tent


I've rediscovered a love for being outside. I camp, hike, escape to cabins, ski, and this winter I'm going to try out snowshoeing.

top bar beehive apiary


This year's weird project was building a apiary (beehive). I built an organic top-bar hive which is more natural for the bees. Next year: honey.

Other Interests

  • Board Games
  • Reading
  • Theatre
  • Star Trek
  • Doctor Who
  • Gourmet Wine & Cheese
  • Volunteering
  • Fitness
  • Model Railroading
  • Home Renovation
  • Beer Brewing
  • Cheese Making
  • Gardening
  • History
  • Dogs
  • Coffee
  • Microelectronics
  • Hydroponics

Random Facts

  • I've moved from NJ to PA to NJ to Omaha to Dallas to NJ to Omaha to NJ to Los Angeles to NYC and finally to Denver. People ask if Dad was in the military, but really we were just on the run.
  • I've traveled to England (6-8 times), Scotland, the Netherlands (4 times), Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Switzerland (3 times), Romania (3 times), Hungary (3 times), Cameroon, and Mexico.
  • I went to Azusa Pacific University. My degree doesn't exist anymore.
  • I'm an introvert. A relaxed night of wine, games, and good people is more appealing than a crazy overfilled bar.
  • In NY we lived in a renovated lunatic asylum.
  • My favorite books are At Swim, Two Boys and almost anything by David Mitchell.
  • My husband and I were married in a bookstore.
  • We bought our first house last year, but it was a 70's nightmare. So we took on a massive renovation crammed into 3.5 months. We did it ourselves.
  • I built a bar in our newly renovated house, complete with a kegerator for up to two beers on tap ... just because I could.
  • I've never been to Disneyland, though I lived near it for 4 years.
  • When I was in Africa I was there on a construction project to build a medical clinic. I electrified myself with 220v several times.
  • My geekery over Star Trek knows no bounds. Yes, I've been to conventions and even had a costume once (no, not anymore... honest...)
  • Hazlenut coffee makes me ill.
  • I once no, twice actually, drove an ATV up the center aisle of the church sanctuary. The tire tracks are still in the foyer.
  • Oban is my favorite scotch, but nothing beats Stranahan's Colorado Whiskey.
< >

©2014 Jeof Oyster. Design elements adapted/borrowed from Dave who expanded on Max.